Upgrading from Win7 to Win 8 (Pro)



Thanks to Magenic and SilverlightShow I purchased the Windows 8 Upgrade from Amazon, well actually pre-ordered, with gift cards, but anyways.

So I was going to upgrade last night, but I really wanted to watch Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter, so it had to wait. But tonight after a long day of watching the zombie movie  marathon on Syfy, I felt it would be a good time to start looking at that upgrade…

So I started out with running the System File Checker and I had some errors:

well that file is 2.22 MB (2,330,624 bytes) .. which is basically to big to read (as far as I’m concerned).. So I proceeded with a backup (better safe than sorry). I saved that to my Seagate “Apocalypse Drive”
(i.e. the external drive I keep at the bank safety deposit box in case I really mess up my life {aka  my PC’s}) . Once that was done, (about 2 hrs and 30 minutes)… I decided to do some preemptive reading (it’s always good to read the destructions). I started with the Windows Upgrade Adviser, and after downloading it and running it it gave me this:

Windows 8 Upgrade Assistant Report
Operating system: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
Manufacturer: ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
Model: U56E
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz
Memory: 6.1

Program Producer Version Support Suggestion

Unsupported 3rd Party Applications

Oracle VM VirtualBox 4.1.8 Oracle Corporation Version 4.1.8 Not compatible
Blender Blender Foundation Version 2.61-release Paid update available
Intel(R) WiDi Intel Corporation, Version 2.1.39.0 Reinstall it in Windows 8
Adobe Flash Player 10 Plugin Adobe Systems Incorporated Version 10.0.32.18 Update available
Trend Micro Titanium Internet Security 9 Trend Micro Inc. Version 3.1.110 Solution available
VirtualCloneDrive Elaborate Bytes Reinstall it in Windows 8
Intel(R) Wireless Display  Version 14.0 Reinstall it in Windows 8

Unsupported Microsoft

Office Starter 2010 – English Version 14.0.4763.1000 Go to the app website for help
Visual Studio 2010 Service Pack 1 Version 10.0.40219 Go to the app website for help
Visual C# 2010 Express – ENU Version 10.0.40219 Go to the app website for help
Visual C++ 2010 Express – ENU Version 10.0.40219 Update available
XNA Game Studio 4.0 Refresh Version 4.0.30901.0 Go to the app website for help
WCF Data Services SDK for Windows Phone Version 4.7.6.0 Paid update available
Windows Phone Emulator x64 – ENU Version 10.0.40219 Solution available

Even thought I didn’t see my recently purchased Sony Studio Platinum on the supported list I did see some of the other software that it came with, so I figured I was safe.. waited another couple of hours for the Backup to complete…Meanwhile I opened up the media.

I liked that the key was on a card (on the right)..

I pulled out the 64 bit disk, and popped it in. Here is a better look at the contents:

2 Disks, a Product key and some instructions

then I eventually got the wondrous:

Then I started the Disk. The first thing you get is this window:


this ran for a while and then I received this


Which was a little scary as I don’t have a local hard line for my internet, but I gladly removed the Trend Micr0 (it was expired anyways).

I figured that if I upgraded the drivers I might have some luck, so I got the newest version of the PROSet/Wireless Drivers From Intel. And in the words of Blender Happily proceeded.

Success!

And one of the first things I did (because I like my menues) is to add the Classic Start menu back into my Win8 desktop I found some options

Start8 $4.99 and Ninite which is based off of Classic Shell and is free (but seems a bit wonky). I Had some issues with the Classic Shell Icon overlapping so I decided to make my own icon and swap it out. (o.k. I made a rough image I’ll tweek it later) you can get the rough version here

Then I turned on Hyper-V (which I’ve been waiting to do). And everything  worked fine!

About Larry Louisiana

I'm a Microsoft Partner Consultant.
This entry was posted in Game Development, Leisure, News and politics, Uncategorized, Windows 8 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Upgrading from Win7 to Win 8 (Pro)

Leave a Reply

